09 American Theatre of Actors
Get Yahoo! Map January Show Calendar
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Theater is dark over the holidays.
Happy Holidays! See you in 2012!

About American Theatre of Actors, ATA

The American Theatre of Actors was founded in 1976 by James Jennings, who continues as its President and Artistic Director. It is a repertory theatre company consisting of 50 actors, 20 playwrights and 10 directors. Its purpose is to promote the development of new playwrights, directors and actors and provide them a creative atmosphere in which to work without the pressures of commerical theatre. The plays are dramas and comedies dealing with the social and ethical problems of contemporary society. Over 800 new works have been presented and more than 8000 actors have worked at ATA, including Dennis Quaid, Bruce Willis, Danny Aiello, Dan Lauria, Chazz Palminteri, Kevin O'Connor, Kevin Spacey, William Fichtner and Edie Falco.

If you are interested in helping support the further growth of ATA, your contribution is greatly appreciated and is tax deductible.


President: James Jennings
Vice President: Jane Culley
Secretary: James Bernet
Treasurer: Jacqueline Pace

Board of Directors:
Gil Ancowitz, Ted Baehr, Allen Hussing, Joseph Krawczyk,
Suzanne McGrath, Carolyn Odell,
McMillan Johnson, Chairman

James Jennings, President and Artisitic Director

James Jennings is the founder and Aritistic Director of ATA and has produced the works of over 800 new Playwrights over the past 35 years. As a director he won the T.O.R. award for Best Director for the Off-Broadway play "The Holy Junkie" by John Quinn. He also won the "Jean Dalrymple" Award for Best Director of the play "Blood Money" starring Dan Lauria, and he directed Celeste Holm on Broadway in "Salute to Clinton." In addition he directed Harvey Keitel in "The Funeral" at the Actors Studio and his own play, "My Fathers House", was produced Off-Broadway starring Henderson Forsythe and was highly acclaimed. He has directed the full Shakespearan cannon including Edward the Third. He is a member of the Actors Studio Director/Playwright Unit and worked with Elia Kazan, Lee Strasberg & Harold Clurman.

Copyright © 2006 American Theatre of Actors, ATA
Website Design by applebox